Zmicier Dashkevich receives For Freedom of Thought award

Photo: Radio Liberty
Photo: Radio Liberty

The Young Front leader Zmitser Dashkevich has received the prize “For Freedom of Thought”. It was awarded in Bychki, Vushanitsy District (Vasil Bykau’s birthplace) on June 17. The writer’s 93rd anniversary was marked there.

Zmitser Dashkevich was noted for the defense of Kurapaty. He received the award from regional ethnographer Ada Raichonak,  one of the previous laureates of the prize.

The prize “For Freedom of Thought” was established in 2008. It was awarded to famous poets Ryhor Baradulin and Nil Hilevich, writer Uladzimir Arlou, literary men and politicians Uladzimir Nyaklyayeu and Pavel Sevyarynets, painters Ales Pushkin and Ales Marachkin, regional ethnographers Ada Raichonak and Ales Belakoz. Producer Valery Mazynski received a laureate’s diploma last year, Radio Liberty reports.


A special jury chooses laureates of the “Freedom of Thought Prize”. It consists of people afforded the honour of getting the prize earlier. People noted for their achievements in civil, professional or creative activities for the good of Belarus and freedom are nominated for this prize.