EU Ministers impose new limitations on Minsk

In particular, 16 people have been added on “the EU’s black list” of personae non gratae. Just like the other 192 officials, they will be forbidden to enter the EU member states and their European assets will be frozen. The European Union considers these people to be responsible for the continuation of repressions directed against the civil community, political opposition and independent mass media.

According to, the Council of the EU has also prolonged the current sanctions imposed on the official Minsk until October 31, 2012.

The decisions and the additional list of Belarusian officials will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union on October 11 and will come into power afterwards.