You are here

BSDP puts forward 34 nominees for parliamentary election


The Belarusian Social-Democratic Party (Hramada) has nominated 34 contenders for the parliamentary election. The assembly was held in Minsk on July 17 with 37 delegates participating, BelaPAN reports. The vote was secret.

Leader Iryna Veshtard, deputy heads Hanna Kanyus and Leanid Dubanosau, presidium member Ihar Maslouski and central committee member Aleh Trusau have become the party contenders. Some of the potential candidates have registered their initiative groups and are also collecting signatures.


This is the most active parliamentary campaign in the party’s history, senior deputy head of the BSDP (Hramada) Ihar Barysau said. The party used to nominate 10-11 contenders at similar elections.

The Belarusian parliamentary election is scheduled for September 11, 2016.