Poland and Baltic countries to join Schengen Agreement this year


The Baltic countries are to join the Schengen Agreement in December 2007 alongside with the other new EU members. The decision will be the signed in November. The EU representative office in Lithuania has informed about it.

According to the Schengen Agreement, systematic border controls between the old and the new EU member states  - Czechia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia and Hungary - will be abolished.

Border control will remain only for sea and air transport in airports, reports “RIA Novosti”.

Let us remind you that the cost of a Schengen visa is 60 euro for Belarusians. The Ministry of Foreign Affaires of Belarus is now conducting negotiations to lower the price of a Polish visa to 35 euro.

A single-entry Polish visa costs 5 euro now.