You are here

Russia’s border area regime with Belarus comes into force


Russia has introduced the border regime in areas next to the border with Belarus on February 6. FSB director Alexander Bortnikov signed the order on December 26, 2016. It was made public at the end of January 2017.

The border regime has been introduced in Russia's three oblasts – Pskov, Smolensk and Bryansk. There used to be no border zones at Belarus-Russia border before.

The innovation will not affect Belarusian citizens and will only apply to foreigners, the Russian border service assured. Russians have not installed any checkpoints near the border yet. Nevertheless, they will be checking the passports of people heading for Russia form Belarus by car or by train.

Alyaksandr Lukashenka described Russia's move as a political attack during his press conference in Minsk on February 3.