European parliament approves Schengen zone expansion for new EU members

The European Parliament on Thursday approved by a majority vote the expansion of the Schengen zone to the new members of the European Union. Belarus's neighbors -- Poland, Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia -- are on the list. Border controls at land crossing points between our neighbors and other EU countries will be removed in the night of December 21, 2007.

Airport border controls will be abolished on March 30, 2008. Switzerland will also join the open-border agreement in 2008.