Ukraine signs association deal with EU


President of the European Council Herman Van Rompuy and President of the European Commission José Manuel Barroso were the first to sign the document. Then the agreement was signed by acting Ukrainian PM Arseniy Yatsenyuk, UNIAN reports. The signatures of leaders and PMs of the 28 EU member states followed in alphabetical order.

 The Association Agreement between Ukraine and the European Union, European Atomic Energy Community and their member states had to be signed during the Eastern Partnership summit in Vilnius on November 28-29. However, the Ukrainian Cabinet headed by Mykola Azarov stopped the preparation for it a week before the summit.

Photo: Reuters