Lionel Messi wins fourth Ballon d'Or


The Ballon
d'Or award ceremony took place in Zuroch, Switzerland. Argentinean Lionel
Messi, Barcelona forward, became the player of the year. His colleague from the
Catalonian club – halfback Andrés Iniesta –  and the leader of Real Madrid Cristiano
Ronaldo were his rivals.

It is the first
time a player has received the fourth consecutive Ballon d'Or. As regards
awards, Lionel Messi caught up with legendary Michel Platini, Johan Cruyff  and Marco van Basten last year. And he has
broken the record now.

2012 was a
year of numerous achievements for Lionel Messi although Barcelona did not manage
to win either in the Spanish Cup or the Champions League. The Argentinean broke
Gerd Müller's record of goals in a calendar year by scoring  5 goals in matches with Bayer. Messi also set
new records of goals per season in the Champions League and the Spanish Cup.

Photo by — Reuters