EU excludes 24 Belarusian officials from the black list

Council of the European Union has taken 24 citizens of Belarus off the list of persons subject to EU sanctions, Interfax reports referring to the Official Journal of the European Union.

The following persons were excluded from the list:

Natallia Pyatkevich - the former assistant to the president of Belarus,

Leanid Maltsau - Chairman of the State Border Committee,

Henadz Nyavyhlas - the former head of the Presidential Administration,

Anatol Rubinau - former chairman of the National Assembly,

Yauhen Paludzen - former Deputy Minister of Internal Affairs,

Uladzimir Paluyan - former Minister of Taxes and Duties,

Alyaxey Vasilieu - the first deputy chairman of the State Property Committee,

Yury Prakopau - former presenter of TV channel Belarus 1

Syarhei Ablameyka - rector of the Belarusian State University,

Tamara Alpeyeva - rector of International Humanitarian and Economic Institute,

Henadz Padhayski - Director of Minsk State Polytechnical College

Mikhail Batura - rector of the Belarusian State University of Informatics and Radio Electronics

Natallia Merkul - Director of Talkau high school.

Also from the EU black list were crossed out judge Andrey Baranousky, Alena Ananich, Volha Husakova, Mikalai Balauniou, Alena Charnyak, Zhanna Dubinina, Natallya Kuznyatsova, Alena Laptseva, Lidziya Tsyalitsa, Natallia Varenik, Valyantsina Zyankevich.

As reported, the Council of the EU extended by a regulation the sanctions against Belarus until October 31, 2015. The EU brought up the fact that not all political prisoners had been released and rehabilitated, as well as the fact that respect for human rights, the rule of law and democratic society in Belarus had not improved.