Visa-free regime between Belarus and China kicks off on 10 August

Photo: BELTA

The intergovernmental agreement on the visa-free travel by the ordinary passport holders will come into force on 10 August, Belarusian Ambassador to China Kiryl Rudy wrote on Twitter. It was signed on 10 June during Aliaksandr Lukashenka's visit to China. The agreement was first ratified by Belarus and now by China.

The state news agency BELTA reports that under the deal, citizens of Belarus will be able to stay without a visa in China for up to 30 days during one journey but not more than 90 days in a year. The similar rules will apply to citizens of China. A special visa will be required if a visitor needs to stay longer than 30 days. The visa-free agreement covers business trips, private and tourism visits.

Belarus is one of the few countries in Europe that has a visa-free regime with China.