Pakistani underage activist Malala Yousafzai gets Sakharov Prize

Belarusian political prisoners Ales Byalyatski, Mikalaj Statkevich and Edward Lobau were among the nominees. 40 MEPs signed for their nomination for this prestigious award.

Ex-officer of the American special services Edward Snowden and also contended for the award this year.

The leaders of the political fractions of the European Parliament will decide on the winner in the framework of the assembly session in Strasbourg.

The Andrei Sakharov award has been established by the European Parliament back in 1988. It is awarded for the achievements in the human rights and democracy field. In 2004, the Belarusian Association of Journalists won the award, while in 2006 it was Alyaksandr Milinkevich. 

Photo - AFP,